Welcome to the new Debt Questions forum. Feel free to say Hi and tell us a little about yourself.

Moderators: TalbotWoods, JaneClack

By dieselc
#315483 Ok, heres my story.
My debt problem started at 20 when i was sold a mortgage with an endowment policy.
We bought this house 25years ago, with a small deposit and an average mortgage. The father in law was a builder and told us to buy this run down house, do it up with his help and sell it within a few years and move upwards and on wards.

I was a long distance lorry driver, she was a shop worker. We married, with little help from parents with the cost of a wedding or house. it was done on a budget. The father in law moved away and sadly died too young. So the building work was mostly done by me and friends help. Lots needed doing. And I’m still at it. In fact, jobs I did 20 years ago now need doing again. (the debt grew)

In the last 25years we’ve had three lovely children. now 21,19 and a 16yrs. 15years ago the wife became ill. It took doctors a while to diagnose what was wrong. She has ulcerative colitis. This means she spends a lot of time going to the loo. She’s takes lots of tablets and every now and then when it’s really bad has to spend time in hospital. She had to give up work. (the debt grew)

The father in law passed away when he was 48, his brother died of cancer a few years later at 52. I came out of the hospital after seeing her uncle pass away and said to my wife life is to short let’s release some equity in the house and buy a nice car and caravan and have some decent holidays. Something i don’t regret. (the debt grew) We still have our 17year old trooper and 15year old caravan, although they don’t get used very much these days.