Questions you have before making a decision to go Bankrupt and the Bankruptcy process

Moderators: TalbotWoods, JaneClack

By chandjay
#264633 Hi,
I'm new to this section of the forum, so please bear with me.

When listing my "outgoings", would it be better to list HALF of everything - Rent, Gas, Water etc and deal my wife's income completely out of the equation(or indeed am I allowed to do that),

OR
Have I to list everything in it's entirety, (full cost of Rent, Gas etc) and then state what my wife contributes to the household expenditure.

... And then, what would the O/R deem as a fair contribution from my wife .....All her wage ? Half her wage ?

Anyone got any advice.

P.S. And another thing - Is it acceptable to claim for Emergencies, Holidays, Hairdressing etc.
By JaneClack
#264663 The Insolvency Service uses the National Family Expenditure Survey for its guidelines - have a look at the technical manual.

Technically you should not have to say what your partner brings in - but they will ask!!! It may be that she brings home less than you so you could say you have to pay more to the bills. If she earns more then half would be reasonable as the OR could ask - however she is entitled to her own expenditure - but do check on the technical manual.
By mcuth
#264733 Personally, what I did was this - I put down the entire outgoings for the household and also what SWMBO contributes (not what she earns!). The OR then used that to work out what my %age contribution was to the household budget and from that, what %age of the outgoings was mine - they then used the "contribution amount" of each outgoing in calculating my outgoings for the IPA. It worked well for me and I felt it was a very fair calculation.