Your views and questions.

Moderators: TalbotWoods, JaneClack

By music77
#415623 Dear All
Many moons ago I was a very poor student, living on a student grant & my current account from Barclays.

As soon as I graduated, they demanded a huge £££ per month to clear my then large overdraft. As I wasn't earning much then, I sought legal advice from the Citizen's Advice Bureau and the whole account was closed & a CCJ was enforced. Since then - every month for the past 12 years - I pay a couple of £s per month to honour my CCJ.

I want to make an offer of 15-20% of the total balance (which is about £9.5k in total) of which 1/2 the balance is actually interest they kept on adding before the CCJ was agreed.

I am now working full-time but am not in a position to clear the total balance. I want to satisfy the debt once and for all as myself & my partner hope to get a mortgage soon. I am debt free apart from this CCJ.

I tried calling their debt recovery debt tonight and was very aggressively questioned by a female recovery agent as to my current earnings, new address and personal details as they have no up-to-date records for me even though I have never missed a payment but have never received a statement or contact from them since the CCJ was established.

As we don't want our current address or contact details added to this CCJ account, can anyone advise if a PO Box Address could be set-up to deal with final settlement offer? As anyone on here dealt with Barclays Recovery dept?

Any advice will be extremely appreciated.
By TalbotWoods
#415643 Hi music77

It sounds that the CCJ is still live with the original creditor, and with that particular bank you may find a uphill struggle to get them to accept a F&F.

First thing, the CCJ will have fallen off your Credit Files and will not be shown on the Registry Trust (they who hold the records of CCJs) so it would not show up a credit search, but if asked legally you are obliged to tell creditors you have one.