Scottish and English debt laws are different, so if you are a Scottish resident and have questions on debt, then this is the place to post.

Moderators: TalbotWoods, JaneClack

By Obelix
#471523 Hi, I'm in major debt to the HMRC and a few others, and am looking at declaring Low Income Low Asset (LILA) bankruptcy, as I live in Scotland. Info about this on the web is quite thorough, but there are two questions I haven't been able to work out:

1) I value my car at less than £3000 (bought for £3500 in Oct 2012, but used hard with higher than normal wear & tear since then). I live on a rural farm, and use the vehicle to get to work in remote forestry areas, as I'm a forestry surveyor. Will this car be seized and sold, or will I be able to keep it for work?

2) Do I absolutely need a Certificate of Sequestration, or will the extensive financial details that I will be filling out in the debtor's pack be sufficient? I would prefer to avoid getting this certificate, as it means an expensive trip into the city and I'd imagine a fee towards getting it compiled and issued.

Thanks...
Modify message
By TalbotWoods
#471524 Hi and Welcome

I would urge you to have a read of this document that is maintained and updated by the AiB "Debtor's Guide"

It opens as PDF Document and outlines the requirements for Bankruptcy in Scotland.

For example providing you qualify for a LILA Bankruptcy there is no need for a Certificate of Sequestration (pages 5 & 6) but be aware AiB is quite rigid regarding the Low Income, what you consider as being on a low income, may actually fail the low income criteria. At present that means a MAXIMUM pay income of no more than £252.40 per week BEFORE deductions based on 40 hours at £6.31 (current minimum wage)