Debt questions from around the world, helping each other by giving and receiving advice on UK based debt.

Moderators: TalbotWoods, JaneClack

By Stowaway
#186469 Hi guys,

i've read most of the posts on here and i am aware most of these questions have been answered at some point but answers to this would be great.

Basically £6k worth of debt and i'm going to Oz in May due to a family bereavement. Lived in the UK all my life with an Australian passport (lucky me!). I am not planning on returning anytime soon.

I am aware i should pay them, i work in the enforcement business (for the high courts actually!) p.s. any questions regarding this i don't mind answering!

Now a few of my debts i've paid for years, i've recently had 2 new credit cards but they're £200 limit MAX.

My questions are:

1) Will i be done for fraud here if i leave the new cards i acquired as they're quite recent, although i've made first and second payments?

2) Will i get arrested or a CCJ in Aus?

3) Will i be deported etc? Even with my proper passport.

4) Is it "better" to send a letter to creditors re: my situation saying i'm going abroad or should i just go??

5) Will i be made B/R?? My biggest debt is only £3k (loan - unsecured)

Thanks in advance

P.s i am not condoning debt avoidance, i do want to pay them but not yet, who knows in a few years. I'm just worried about my immediate next few years and would like answers from the knowledgable "team" i've seen answer other questions

Thanks guys
By Yogi Bear
Stowaway wrote:1) Will i be done for fraud here if i leave the new cards i acquired as they're quite recent, although i've made first and second payments?

2) Will i get arrested or a CCJ in Aus?

3) Will i be deported etc? Even with my proper passport.

4) Is it "better" to send a letter to creditors re: my situation saying i'm going abroad or should i just go??

5) Will i be made B/R?? My biggest debt is only £3k (loan - unsecured)