How do I find my bankruptcy discharge date?
The date of your discharge from bankruptcy is definitely one to pop in your diary. It’s a date to celebrate – as it means you will be debt free and can look to start again financially.
Where can I find my bankruptcy discharge date?
You will be automatically discharged from your bankruptcy, if everything goes smoothly. In some cases, you won’t be sent any proof of this but here are a couple of ways to find the date:
On original paperwork
Any letters you were sent when the bankruptcy was initially set up should disclose some sort of estimated date of when your bankruptcy should end. Alternatively, you can check the date it was set up and count 12 months ahead to work out a date for yourself.
On the Insolvency Register
The Insolvency Register, also known as the bankruptcy register – we have more information about this here – features information about your bankruptcy including the date it was started and when you should be discharged by.
You can access the insolvency register for free, simply search for your name and location and you will find your listing. It’s a good idea to keep an eye on this as your bankruptcy progresses to ensure all the information input on it is correct.
By speaking to your Official Receiver
The official receiver deals with your bankruptcy and should have all the details relating to your discharge date and how the process is going. Contact them for information about your discharge date if you can’t access the insolvency register for whatever reason or don’t have any paperwork to hand.
What if I’ve already been discharged but haven’t received notice?
It is free to obtain a confirmation of discharge from the Insolvency Service. This will then be sent you in the form of a written letter that you can keep and share with creditors in the unlikely case that they should chase you again for payment in the future.
Alternatively, you can print off your listing on the insolvency register featuring your discharge date as informal proof, although your listing is removed after three months so this may not be an option if you are past this time period.
On this page: