Welcome to the new Debt Questions forum. Feel free to say Hi and tell us a little about yourself.

Moderators: TalbotWoods, JaneClack

By sopathak
#471163 Hi,

I am new to this, so sorry if I am asking a question that has been answered many times already.

My current credit score is fairly good - 792 but my mortgage application was declined due to defaults betn. 2008-2011. What are my options to get mortgage sorted?

I am willing to pay the defaults but how long aft paying off the debt, can I expect to be successful in getting mortgage? Any time line?

Thanks
By TalbotWoods
#471173 Hi and welcome

Firstly please have a read of this thread on Credit Scores (which you may have already have found) viewtopic.php?f=24&t=18870

Unfortunately just paying off a defaulted account may not help, as the fact that there was a default in the first place indicates to a potential lender that there is a risk factor. Remember a default occurs when you fail to adhere to the terms and conditions of an account, most occur through a person failing to make payments.

Irrespective of if you pay these off or not, a default will show for 6 years form the time it was issued, all that will change is the balance on the account and if it is also shown as settled or unsettled, the default remains.

Let us look at this form the lenders point of view. You have had several loans/credit cards/store cards/etc in the past, you failed to make all the contractual payments, so defaults were issued against the account, this means to the lender that you are a higher risk applicant. So you now wish to loose those accounts by paying them off, but in doing so you find the defaults will still remain on the file, these are statements of facts and not indications of if the account is paid up or not.