Welcome to the new Debt Questions forum. Feel free to say Hi and tell us a little about yourself.

Moderators: TalbotWoods, JaneClack

By smith30
#464163 Hi

I am new to this but need some help with the mess i have got myself into. :(

In 2007 I got into debt struggled to pay even the minium payment, so being young and stupid i stopped paying. I have had letters over the year but the debts change to a different company.

Anyway one of my debts has landed on Lowells door who have decided to go to the Northampton Bulk Centre and I am being asked to start making payments. I have checked my credit report and it is only showing my history since 2012 which is strange as all everything else shows from date account was open. It also says that I defaulted in 2009 but doesn't show my last payment.

Any advice would be much appreciated
By TalbotWoods
#464193 Hi and Welcome

First and first most, when was the LAST time you (or someone on your behalf) either

Paid anything towards this debt

or

Acknowledged in WRITING that the debt was yours

Tim
By smith30
#464223 Thanks for reply Tim

When i moved house i lost a lot of documents so the problem is I dont exactly no and I not sure how to find out.

Is there a way of find out or am i buggered?
By TalbotWoods
#464273 Are you fairly sure when you stopped paying. The reason I am asking is that this debt may actually be statute barred, now there are TWO things to can do now.

Firstly you must tell the court you wish to defend the claim in full, do this on line and do is sooner rather than latter. You need to do this to allow time for Lowells to respond to your request to be provided with evidence.

You must then look at what date you had to submit you defence was, then ADD 14 days and put a big red ring around the date on you calendar, as that is the date you MUST submit your full defence, on line! If you are late even by 1 day they will get a summary judgement!