Questions you have before making a decision to go Bankrupt and the Bankruptcy process

Moderators: TalbotWoods, JaneClack

Byflower1974
#3495 Right here goes

I am around £16000 in debt to unsecured creditors and around £5000 in debt to family and £5000 to my boyfriend. I have spoken about an iva and dmp and am not quite sure whether theses are my best options.
I have around £200 left from my wages but this is based on an extremley tight budget. Would this mean i would have to pay this each month?
I am thinking about bankrupcy but have got to find the £460 fee. if i decided to take the plunge into bankrupcy it would be in April. In March i will be getting a bonus of around £1000 which i have to pay my boyfriend back as he has been helping with my rent for the last couple of months and it was funds from him buying a car.
I have been gambling foolishly for around 2 years so have had to borrow money to live as my wages were spent on gambling. What effect would this have on bankrupcy
I have now stopped gambling but do not attend GA as im not really confident in meeting people? i have spoken to my doctor who can recomend someone to talk to. My boyfriend does not know about the extent of my debts so i don't want him to know about the bankrupcy, he often stays with me so would i have to include any of his income in my total income?

I would be really grateful for help in this matter.
I apoligise for my grammer and spelling too.
ByNicky
#3500 Even in Bankruptcy, if you have a surplus you will probably have to pay it in to your estate during bankruptcy. If you give £1000 to your boyfriend a few weeks before making a petition, the Official Receiver may request this money back. (It can be done). If you do a search on this forum (if you havnt already) and look for Gambling Debt, you will read other posters experiences regarding petitioning for Bankrputcy after gambling.