Questions you have before making a decision to go Bankrupt and the Bankruptcy process

Moderators: TalbotWoods, JaneClack

Bydododo
#3035 Hi
I'm new to all this!

I bought a house with ex-partner dec 02. I had 7k on credit cards (which were my partners bills but in my name) when we first moved in. I left my ex March '04. By the time I left I had around 33k on credit cards. I had always paid the minimum each month but when I went on marternity I could not afford and my ex didn't help out. The figure went up to 30k as decorating house, my ex wasn't paying the mortgage so I'd pay on my card etc....

I was going to go for an IVA and it was in the process of being accepted but because I then left my ex I knew I couldn't commit myself to £250 a month for next 5 years.

I got in touch with National Debtline who advised me to write to my creditors and explain my situation and that I was not on benefits. I now pay them between £1-£10 a month.

I still have my name on the mortgage (which is 4months in arrears as partner didn't pay for 6mths until Bank of Scotland said they would take house away) and want my ex to sell up - he still lives there I moved out.

I don't want this 30k hanging over my head. I will be going back to work v.soon but on v.low wage (around 4k a year). What would happen if when he finally sold the house I went backrupt after - would the OR know? I owe money to family and would prefer to pay them back money I got from the house - bearing in mind I would not come out with a lot from the house.

I don't see why I should go bankrupt while my ex still in house, my half would go to our bills and he would keep the other half. He seems to think as in my name my problem (I know stupid).

Thanks
ByNicky