Questions you have before making a decision to go Bankrupt and the Bankruptcy process

Moderators: TalbotWoods, JaneClack

By jackthelad
#8483 I've been looking to sell my house and rent it out afterwards. There would be no equity, as the buyer would only pay what was left on the mortgage. I would then rent and still live there.

Anyone know if this is o.k. Although I know there is to be a bankcruptcy hearing, I can say I don't know what the result will be.Would this cause me any problems ?

Jack
By Mel_Odious
#8486 Don't quite understand Jack.
Are you saying you know of someone willing to buy the house for the price of the outstanding mortgage and will let you live there as a tenant?

If so this could possibly be seen as a sale at under value and the OR would intervene and could possibly ask the purchaser for any shortfall between the buying price and the actual value. This is what I would assume as an amateur, I am not a professional advisor and could be wrong. Sarah may know better.

Mel
By jackthelad
#8488 Mel,.

I did wonder about that, but this would be the value, if anyone sold their house this way. Is this still less than market value ? The buyer is unknown to me personally, it is purely business and I would not profit in any way.

Would it not be considered as me trying to keep a roof above my family's head ?

Regards,

Jack
By Joannec
#8489 I'm not an expert, but I would think that it is actually putting an asset out of the OR's reach and if so, the transaction will be overturned.

Anybody else?
By steveo
#8491 this does sound like a very dodgey thing to do, selling a asset for less than it's true value is a NO-NO as far as the OR is concerned. they can apply to the courts to get the purchase overturned. even more of a problem if you have furthur loans which have been secured on the house.

i suggest you see the CAB or at least read the FAQ on the insolvency website:
http://www.insolvency.gov.uk/guidanceleaflets/happhome.htm
ByDavidc
jackthelad wrote:Mel,.