Your views and questions.

Moderators: TalbotWoods, JaneClack

By Budzie19
#300953 Hi folks,

I'm after a bit of advice really.

I have been paying into my dmp with PayPlan for about 6 years now where I am slowly but surely chipping away at the amount I owe.

I think the service I have from payplan is great by the way!

My questions being is that on my credit file I have 3 default notices to which I am paying through the dmp. All 3 dates are different which I thought I started at the same time, is this right.

Also though should theses as defaults even though I have been paying an agreed amount of money back to them each month.

Final question being is that I have asked for a settlement figure. This turned out to be more than we thought so will ask for a part settlement figure to try and clear the money. Would this harm my credit score even more?

Apologies for the long winded topic and hopefully I've put this in the right sections!

Many thanks
By JaneClack
#300973 You are not paying the full amount so you have defaulted and the earlier the better the defaults go on the credit file, the better as they fall off after 6 years. A creditor can issue a default notice any time after warning you that you have fourteen days to repair the "breach" ie pay off arrears. Those letters will have come ages ago and then they put on the default when and if they want.

Anything that goes on your credit file will sit for 6 years - even a part settlement.