Questions about Individual Voluntary Arrangements and Insolvency.

Moderators: TalbotWoods, JaneClack

Byhenrymurphy
#198876 Hi

Thisis my firts post but have benefitted from your advice over the last few years. I'm hoping you may be able to help me - but I'm afraid I know the answer...

I am in my 4th year of my IVA (due to finish April 2010 due to an agreed extension with Paypal)

In December 2006 my debit card was cloned and a large amount of money stolen from my account. Nationwide set up an overdraft facility because of this with no end date.

Foolishly I never informed paypal as although there were mitigating circumsatnces I was scared they might fail me as I have a lause about not obtaining credit facilities. I also have not been in a position to decrease the overdraft although the stolen money was repaid.

I have received a letter today giving me 3 weeks notice to repay the overdraft or charges, interest will be applied etc. I will try to neogiate with Nationwide tomorrow but wondered if anyone has any advise or similar expereince? I'm aware that Paypal could still fail me ad I should have been honest.

Any advice or views would be greatly appreciated
Bysubmariner
#198887 I assume you mean Payplan :wink:

Hmmm, thinking about this..... hopefully some real expert will come along.

You do seem to have a snag in trying to negotiate with Nationwide, because any "offer" made to them is unfair to your other creds who are included, with their reduced settlements, in your IVA. Payplan could very well go ballistic about that IMHO....

I just fail to see how Nationwide allowed this..... I can sort-of understand why Nationwide could have allowed a "one-off" OD to deal with the administration of the original fraud against you, but I really can't understand why they didn't just close that down with the payment of the stolen money (which I presume they had a part in recovering, or at least refunding?)