Scottish and English debt laws are different, so if you are a Scottish resident and have questions on debt, then this is the place to post.

Moderators: TalbotWoods, JaneClack

By OregonKev
#28371 So a quick rundown of the situation here. I have about 30,000 pounds of debt in the UK, personal loans, credit cards etc. I used to live in Glasgow where I was born and raised so I'm presuming here it all comes under Scottish Debt.
Last year emigrated to the US to marry my American wife, I am now a permanent resident here and shall be for many years to come, no plans to move back to the UK.
I was originally paying token amounts to my creditors through arrangements I made directly with them however changes in circumstances now mean that I cannot even these. I have no assets here in the US as I rent and the car is under my wifes name.
So what i am looking for here is advice on a couple of things.
1. Can these debts which I am no longer paying be transferred to the US, for example, can LTSB sell of my personal loan to a US company and therefore ruin any credit I have managed to build up here?
2. Can I apply for bankruptcy through the Scottish System even when I am no longer a resident of the UK.
3. If I can take the bankruptcy procedure how the hell do I do it??? I understand from postings on one of the other boards that if you are in England then you can do it yourself but how does the Scottish way work, how do I make a bank make me bankrupt?
4. Any other advice?

Thanks in advance, it's always good to find a decent forum where there are many pople going through the same thing, good to know I'm not the only one. If only we could go back in time and I could barter a cow to replace all my debts!
By JLP