Discussions on life after your bankruptcy discharge.

Moderators: TalbotWoods, JaneClack

ByOn-the-up
#61586 Hi everyone

I'm a newbie to this forum so apologies if i'm asking something that has already been covered.

I was made bankrupt last year after some terrible decisions by the Family Courts giving all my money to my ex wife and all her credit card debts to ME! lol I was discharged after just seven months.

I got a basic account with the Abbey - but need an account that will allow me a Debit Card so that I can poay things on the Internet etc.

I also now have a business which is becoming quite successful and will shortly need a business bank account.

Any suggestions?

RH
ByTalbotWoods
#61594 Yo can try the co-op they do a cashminder account with electon card, but to be honest you are going to find it very difficult (if not impossible) to get a real debit card for a few more years. mnay have tried (including me) and many have been told No (including me)

With regards to the business account again it will prove very difficult, though it may be worth talking to the Nationwide and Co-op again.

Tim
ByDeus
#61596 just out of interest and sorry to but in but what are the key differences between say an electron card and a normal debit card?
ByOn-the-up
#61597 Thanks
ByTalbotWoods
#61600 Electon card have to be authorised each and every sale, if there are insufficent funds then the transaction is turned down.

Normal debit cards are not always authorised and the bank will often allow you to overdraw on them to a small extent.

Electron cards are not usniverally accepted, where as meastro and the like tend to be.

Tim
ByDeus
#61601 Oh right so if you call into a petrol station and fill up then theres no guarantee they will take your card? oooerr
Byjonnie000
#61607 Main differences between Visa Debit and Visa Electron: