Debt questions from around the world, helping each other by giving and receiving advice on UK based debt.

Moderators: TalbotWoods, JaneClack

ByScouse
#195643 I have posted regarding this issue before.....

I am being sued by a US JDB who purchased the debt from a UK bank. I am now residing in the US.
The CC was issued in the UK and used mainly in the UK.
I filed an answer to the complaint claiming lack of jurisdiction as it is a foreign debt and governed by UK laws.

The lawyer representing the JDB is claiming that the debt is not a foreign one. They submitted to the court, as an exhibit, a printout from the UK bank in question showing that they have a division in N. America.

My question.......how can I prove that this is a UK debt?
Do any of the digits of the account number show the origin of the account?
If so....where would I find this info as I would need to quote something or print it out to use as a defense.
Bysteve1001001
#195683 I'm not a lawyer but that printout, in my opinion, doesn't mean a thing. There may well be a US division of the company. The fact still remains that you entered into an alleged agreement with "A Bank UK Ltd", not "A Bank US Inc,".

Each division of a business, if multi-national, are run as completely separate entities. I would stick with your original defense if it were me. As for proving it's a UK debt, have you used discovery? Make them produce the documents. These will clearly show the origin of any alleged agreement and the jurisdisction in which it's governed (if they can get the paperwork).

A US JDB producing any paperwork for a UK debt? No chance. Stick with your defense. Use discovery.
ByScouse
#195731 Thanks for your response steve1001001.

I can easily prove that the debt originated in the UK but it would be acknowledging that I am aware of the accounts existence. That is something that I am wary of doing.
I am in the process of drafting the discovery....