Debt questions from around the world, helping each other by giving and receiving advice on UK based debt.

Moderators: TalbotWoods, JaneClack

By meggy
#167270 Firstly, let me just say, I wish this board had existed 7 years ago!!!

So, my story is quite a long winded one, here goes;

I accrued debts of around £18,000 whilst at University, (student loans, graduate loan, overdrafts and a couple of credit cards). Also someone stole my details and ran up a nice big bill for a catalogue, which was very kind of them.

When I graduated I just couldn't find a decent job (the full graduate loan was approved with gross earnings of £8,100!!!) , and I struggled with the payments. I think I managed around 4 or 5 before getting into seriously deep water and started "Robbing Peter to pay Paul). I moved back to my Father's house (which mean't moving towns and having to look for another job). It was almost imposible to find work, I was either overqualified for some jobs and underqualified/not enough experience for others. I ended up stuffing envelopes for £3.00 per hour.

I kind of flipped!!! I just packed up my stuff and moved to another country (leaving my family to field calls from the various institutions demanding their money back). I just left it all. I did originally go with the intention of working to keep up my payments and returning in a few months to decide what I wanted to do. Fate waved her magic wand and I had a car crash (writing off the car I had paid for with my Graduate loan) , I just went into a mad panic and decided that there was no going back. A few years later, I had a serious life-threatening illness and from then on I thought life is too short to be worrying about this. Now I'm better though, I've started thinking about tying up loose ends